North Woods School
Early Childhood Family Education


 


ECFE Families enjoying the Cook Country Connection Farm.

heartWelcome to Early Childhood Family Education!

We look forward to seeing new and returning families!

North Woods School-Wide Open House (Pre-K - grade 12)
will be held on  Thursday, August 31st, 3:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.
Stop in, meet staff, explore our room and say hello!

ECFE Registration will be held on Tuesday, September 12th, 2017
from: 3:oo p.m. to 6:00 p.m. 

Fall Session begins: Tuesday, September 19th 2017
*Register at the first class if you are unable to attend the registration date listed above.

Tuesday Classes:

     Morning  Session: 9:30 a.m. to 11:30 a.m.
     Afternoon Session: 1:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m.
      Evening    Session: 5:30 p.m. to 7: 30 p.m.


Fees are based on a sliding fee scale.  Scholarships are available!


* IMPORTANT REMINDER* Children's immunizations must be current to attend ECFE Classes!

Parents who take an active role in their child’s education have children who do better in school and life!  If you have a young child under the age of 5, please join us for ECFE!  Early Childhood Family Education Classes are fun for both children and parents!  Hope to see you there!

Early Childhood Family Education – ECFE is a program for children and their parents to participate in together.  Classes are held weekly.  Each class has time for parents and children to do activities together and then a time when they separate.  During the separation time, children are with a teacher and assistants and are able to participate in activities with peers while parents meet with each other and a parent educator to discuss topics important to parents. ECFE is open to all children birth to Kindergarten entrance.  There is a fee to participate based on a sliding fee scale.


Learning Readiness- 2016-17
Registrations are now being accepted for Learning Readiness, fall 2017.  Learning Readiness is for children who have turned 4 on or before September 1, 2017 . Two sections of Learning Readiness are scheduled for the 2017-2018 school year, one section meets on M/Th and one section meets on W/F.  Learning Readiness will begin the week of September 19th, after the K through 12 grade students begin classes.  Students may ride the school bus on existing routes to and from school.  Children may eat breakfast and hot lunch at school.  Before and after school care is available for a nominal fee.  All information is reviewed with parents prior to students beginning the class.

Learning Readiness fees are on a sliding fee scale, based on income.  No family is turned away because of inability to pay.

If you would like to register your child, please contact, Becky Chopp at 218-666-5221 x 5102 or email 
 

Help us build our Early Childhood Mailing List! Do you have a child under the age of 5?  If so, we would like to add you to our early childhood mailing list.  Please call DaNeil Sirjord at 218-749-8130 or email dsirjord@isd2142.k12.mn.us. We need: Parent and child’s names, child’s birthday, address, phone number, and if you have an email, we would like that too!

 

2016-17 ECFE Teaching Staff

Cherry School Lori Udovich ludovich@isd2142.k12.mn.us Deb Spencer dspencer@isd2142.k12.mn.us

Northeast Range 

North Woods School Becky Chopp bchopp@isd2142.k12.mn.us Lori Udovich ludovich@isd2142.k12.mn.us

South Ridge School Edwyna Scouton escouton@isd2142.k12.mn.us
 Meghan Caine mcaine@isd2142.k12.mn.us

Tower-Soudan School Mary Larson mlarson@isd2142.k12.mn.us  Val Beale  vbeale@isd2142.k12.mn.us

For more information, please contact your local school or contact DaNeil Sirjord dsirjord@isd2142.k12.mn.us or call 218-749-3108 x 1116.